Temple Records - The Scottish Record Label est. 1978 - Downloads, CDs, Vinyl, Books

Laura J Martin - Dream Of Sin

Laura J Martin – Dream Of Sin

by on 2 October, 2013

in Song of the Day

Our Song of the Day is from Laura J Martin, Dream of Sin is taken from her forthcoming album Dazzle Days a follow up to her lauded debut album ‘The Hangman Tree’. The album was recorded over three months on a journey from Wallasey to Hoxton via Reykjavík. 13 sumptious tracks bumping into each other like a Brownian motion demonstration these audio vitamins bed down to represent Laura’s best work yet. Dazzle Days features now regular collaborators Mike Lindsay (Tunng) on vocals and Benge who mixed and added synth, Enoesqe beds and Oldfield reverbs at his studio Play Industries.

Thematically expanding on the experience of producing a commissioned soundtrack for the BFI and with a burgeoning interest in golden age composers such as Sven Libaek and Francois de Roubaix. Laura also took inspiration from Jeremy Steigs collaboration album with Pia Zaidora. Imagine ‘Butterfly ‘starring and sound tracked by Laura Nyro, yeah that good.

Tighter pop tunes but convoluted structures. Wonky progressive flute but laurel canyon sweetness, it’s all present and correct. The album will be preceded by the track ‘Red Flag’ as a pay what you want on band camp and promoted by a two month tour with Euros Childs both as support and a member of Euro’s band. Need a further push then think Judee Sill and Linda Perhacs in the studio with Arthur Verocai.

Tour Dates

24 LIVERPOOL – Leaf (Supporting Euros Childs and Bill Ryder Jones)
25 SHEFFIELD – The Harley (Supporting Euros Childs)
26 MANCHESTER – The Roadhouse (Supporting Euros Childs)
27 LEICESTER – Firebug (Supporting Euros Childs)
28 NOTTINGHAM – The Maze (Supporting Euros Childs)
29 BIRMINGHAM – The Hare and Hounds (Supporting Euros Childs)
30 OXFORD – The Wheatsheaf (Supporting Euros Childs)
31 READING – South Street Arts Centre (Supporting Euros Childs)

12 FRANCE, PARIS – Les 3 Baudets (Supporting Mélanie Pain)
21 EDINBURGH – Cabaret Volitaire (Supporting Euros Childs)
22 GLASGOW – The Glad Cafe (Supporting Euros Childs)
23 NEWCASTLE – Star and Shadow (Supporting Euros Childs)
25 YORK – The Duchess (Supporting Euros Childs)
28 CARDIFF – Clwb Ifor Bach (Supporting Euros Childs)
29 CARMARTHEN – Tangled Parrot (Supporting Euros Childs)
30 BRISTOL – Folk House (Supporting Euros Childs)

Dazzle Days is released on October 28th via Static Caravan.
You can pre-order it here: staticcaravan.greedbag.com/laura-j-martin/

Please Share  this article:

Read More from Folk Radio UK on:

Folk Radio Regular Newsletter

For your Folk Music low-down get the Folk Radio Regular Newsletter: Reviews, News, Giveaways & more.

Sign up here