Temple Records - The Scottish Record Label est. 1978 - Downloads, CDs, Vinyl, Books

LAYLAM: a collaboration between four of folk music’s favourite award winners

LAYLAM: a collaboration between four of folk music’s favourite award winners

by on 9 January, 2013

in Folk Music News

Kathryn Tickell’s wisdom is spot on according to Eliza Carthy who has just teamed up with Bella Hardy (BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards winner), Lucy Farrell (BBC R2 Folk Awards nominee), and Kate Young (Ethno Transit award winning composer) to form LAYLAM whose debut album is released on 21st January via Eliza’s on label Hem Hem Records.

Eliza explains: “This musical journey began through the joint efforts of the Sage Gateshead and Alan Bearman at King’s Place in London – Kathryn Tickell thought we would sound good together, and it turns out she was right. She later said that it hadn’t occurred to her that we were all women who played the violin and sang at once. Happy coincidence then, and one that is working well for our sound-tight harmonies and rhythms in voices and bows. And we had such a good time, and such nice tunes, that we thought we would make this album as an excuse to hang out some more. We played everything pretty much live in a room, with fancy bits added later and mistakes glossed over. Oliver Knight added ideas and hobnobs, made killer coffee and tried to work out how to make us sound alright. The word “Laylam” means “chorus”: a good reason to sing together in any setting. Often relating to birds…which we are. Join in then.”

The album will be supported by a full tour, details of which are below:

24 Jan The David Hall, South Petherton
25 Jan Theatr Mwldan, Cardigan, Wales
27 Jan Chipping Norton Theatre, Chipping Norton
29 Jan The Musician, Leicester
30 Jan The Firestation, Windsor
31 Jan The Cornerstone, Didcot
06 Feb Clair Hall, Haywards Heath
07 Feb Ashcroft Arts Centre, Fareham
08 Feb Diss Corn Hall, Diss
09 Feb Plough Arts Centre, Great Torrington
10 Feb Birmingham Conservatoire, Birmingham

Laylam is released on Hem Hem Records (28 Jan 2013)
Buy it from Amazon

Please Share  this article:

Read More from Folk Radio UK on:

Folk Radio Regular Newsletter

For your Folk Music low-down get the Folk Radio Regular Newsletter: Reviews, News, Giveaways & more.

Sign up here