Temple Records - The Scottish Record Label est. 1978 - Downloads, CDs, Vinyl, Books

Folk Radio UK Session: Winter Wilson

Folk Radio UK Session: Winter Wilson

by on 26 April, 2012

in Features, Sessions

The fabulous folk music duo Winter Wilson recently took some time out to record a session for Folk Radio UK. One of the tracks A Miller’s Life, is from their new album Footprints (details below).

They are a very popular duo on the folk circuit which has had a lot to do with not just their great songwriting skills but the chemistry this duo have, listening to their albums is like pulling up to a warm fire with the best of comapany! They are everything that is so good about folk music.

“Your writing is magnificent, your settings and playing equal to that and the both of you sing with rare assured passion that I oft think has gone.
It’s a rare gift you have – cherish it mightily.” John Tams


Storm around Tumbledown
One step from Heaven
A Millers life
I’ll never get to Heaven


Lincolnshire based musicians Dave Wilson and Kip Winter joined forces in 1995 and have steadily built a reputation across the UK for engaging live performances, performing mostly original songs along with the odd well chosen cover.

Lincolnshire has a knack for producing fine singer-songwriters and Winter Wilson are very much in that mould.

Dave’s songs have a broad appeal whilst often relating to the sights and sounds of everyday local life and are now heard in many folk clubs throughout the country. Folk legend Vin Garbutt covered Dave’s “Storm Around Tumbledown” on his CD “Persona Grata” and John Tams described him as “ A magnificent song writer” .

Powerful lyrics combine with superb harmonies to produce songs to remember.

Kip’s voice is one of the best in the business, coupling power and emotion. She’s sung everything from Jazz to Opera, but is at her best when singing folk and blues.

Great songs, great performance, and an off beat sense of humour give Winter Wilson a style that’s very much their own.

With six albums (including their new release) of finely crafted original songs to their credit they continue to gain new fans and respect from their peers.

Winter Wilson’s new album Footprints is out on May 1st and you can purchase it online here.

Tracklisting for Footprints
1. Turn Turn Turn
2. Captain Dexter
3. The Mighty Ash
4. A Miller’s Life
5. Hotter Than the Sun
6. Penny a Bunch
7. Monkey Tree
8. When Blondin Walked the Tightrope
9. Who Will Remember Me

Also check out there youtube channel here.


Find them on Facebook

Please Share  this article:

Read More from Folk Radio UK on:

Folk Radio Regular Newsletter

For your Folk Music low-down get the Folk Radio Regular Newsletter: Reviews, News, Giveaways & more.

Sign up here